Susanne Marell

Susanne Marell is CEO of Hill+Knowlton Strategies in Germany. Before joining H+K she was Managing Director at JP KOM and prior to that she served as CEO of Edelman for six years, overseeing the acquisition and merger with ergo Kommunikation.

After her studies she started her career as a consultant with the agency Kohtes & Klewes (now Ketchum). In the following years, Marell worked for companies such as Schering, Hoechst and Aventis CropScience. As Head of Communications and Market Services, her responsibilities included strategic communications support for merger and acquisition activities.

In 2000, she moved to the chemical company Cognis and, as Vice President Corporate Communications, took over the management of worldwide corporate and sustainability communications. Following the acquisition of Cognis by BASF in 2010, Susanne was responsible for global brand management as Vice President Corporate Brand Management at BASF in Ludwigshafen.

Susanne is a certified systemic consultant and change expert. She has many years of international experience in communications, marketing and sustainability, both on the corporate and agency side.

In addition to that, she is a co-founder of the German network of “Global Women in PR” and has built up the initiative “Next Gen Leadership” as a member of the extended board.

Susanne Marell

Susanne Marell ist CEO von Hill+Knowlton Strategies in Deutschland. Zuvor war sie u.a. sechs Jahre CEO von Edelman.

Nach ihrem Studium startete sie ihre Karriere zunächst als Beraterin bei der Agentur Kohtes & Klewes (heute Ketchum). In den folgenden Jahren war Susanne in Unternehmen wie Schering, Hoechst und Aventis CropScience beschäftigt. Als Leiterin Kommunikation & Marketing verantwortete sie unter anderem die strategische Kommunikationsbegleitung von Merger & Acquisition-Aktivitäten.

Im Jahr 2000 wechselte sie zum Chemieunternehmen Cognis und übernahm als Vice President Corporate Communications die Leitung der weltweiten Unternehmens- und Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation. Nach der Akquisition von Cognis durch BASF im Jahr 2010 verantwortete Marell als Vice President Corporate Brand Management bei BASF in Ludwigshafen die globale Markenführung.

Die Diplom-Ökonomin ist zertifizierte systemische Beraterin, Change-Expertin und verfügt über langjährige, internationale Erfahrung in Kommunikation, Marketing und Nachhaltigkeit auf Agentur- und Unternehmensseite.

Susanne Marell ist Mitgründerin des deutschen Netzwerks von „Global Women in PR“ und hat als Mitglied des erweiterten Vorstands die Initiative “Next Gen Leadership” aufgebaut.